DIY Laundry Detergent

Last week, I shared my story about getting the toxins out of my house. And now, as promised, I’m sharing some of my favorite DIY household products this week so you can replace those toxic products with high quality ones. First up, liquid laundry detergent. If you want to learn more about the toxic ingredients in laundry detergent, read about it here. They explained it so much better than I could even begin to. Let’s just say a few key words/phrases that stand out: asthma attacks, formaldehyde, carcinogenic, kills cells and damages DNA, and adversely effect fetal development and physical function. 

Ingredients:

  • 1-gallon container
  • 1/4 cup washing soda
  • 1/4 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp Castile soap (fragrance free)
  • 15 drops Citrus Fresh
  • 1 gallon tap water

Combine all ingredients in gallon container and mix together. Use 1/3 cup per load. 1 gallon makes 48 loads. Cost? $6!!  It literally takes 2 minutes to make and smells incredible. I’m not talking the overwhelming smell that store-bought laundry detergents have where y can smell them a mile away; I’m talking fresh, clean, nature-y smell.  AND, it cuts down on the static in my clothes, where I don’t even need dryer sheets. (Let’s not even get started on how toxic dryer sheets are.)

You can also use Lavender or Purification depending on what you have and what scent you prefer. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed. 

And as always, I’m only speaking about Young Living essential oils. It’s the only company that produces their oils with the highest quality control and guarantees it. Other oils companies may contain synthetic ingredients and fillers, aka TOXINS. Which is the whole point of making our own toxin free products, remember? *wink*

Comment!